Pages

Thursday, August 28, 2014

How to Delete Facebook Account

  1. If you're not sure whether you want to permanently remove your Facebook account, you can deactivate it. This way, you can rejoin within 30 days without losing your data. To do that, head to Facebook's security settings page.
  2. Now click Deactivate your account. This link is buried beneath "When you're logged in" and you are unlikely to see it unless you're looking for it.
  3. Facebook will now try to emotionally blackmail you into reversing your decision. If you ignore the photos of the people who "will miss you", you can select any reason and click Confirm.
  4. If choose to delete your account permanently, go to Facebook's account deletion page and click Delete My Account.
  5. You'll see a pop-up, where you'll have to enter your password and characters shown in an image (captcha). Click Okay and then click Okay again in a second pop-up. Facebook gives you a chance to change your mind - if you log in anytime in the next two weeks, Facebook will reactivate your account.


How to Download and Save Your Facebook Profile

  • Open Facebook settings.
  • The last option, under Language, is "Download a copy of your Facebook data." This is written in small font size and it's hard to tell that only "Download a copy" in that sentence is actually a link. Click it.
  • In the next page, click Start My Archive > click Start My Archive again in the pop-up > enter your password > click Submit.
  • Facebook will send you an email with a link to a zip file, which you can download and view all your data offline. The data is in an HTML file, which means you can open it in any browser.